The territory of Lithuania is divided into ten counties all named after their capitals. The counties are further sub-divided into 60 municipalities. Counties are administered by county governors who are appointed by the central government, their primary duty is to ensure that the municipalities obey the laws and the Constitution of Lithuania. The counties are as follows: Alytus County; Kaunas County; Klaipėda County; Marijampolė County; Panevėžys County; Šiauliai County; Tauragė County; Telšiai County; Utena County; and Vilnius County.

Policy responses

Health strategies are devised and implemented at a national level, however a Public Health Bureau institution was established in 2006 representing all 60 municipalities present in Lithuania with the fundamental role of linking the national and local level, and to promote the flow of information.

An overview of regional policy responses addressing health inequalities can be found in our Policy Database.


Good practices

An overview of local and regional projects and initiatives that are currently taking place or that have successfully been finalized, and that are addressing health inequality issues, can be found in our Project Database.

Key actors

Please find below an overview of key actors in Lithuania working on health inequality issues:


Are you aware of key actors that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!


Key resources

Please find below a short overview of key documents and resources (produced at regional level) addressing health inequality issues in Lithuania. More publications can be found in our Publications Database.


Are you aware of key resources that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Start typing and press Enter to search