There are eight regions of Iceland, mainly used for statistical purposes. These regions are not defined by law and have no official standing or administrative function. The regions are further subdivided into municipalities. The regions are Höfuðborgarsvæði; Suðurnes; Vesturland; Vestfirðir; Norðurland vestra; Norðurland eystra; Austurland; Suðurland. Policy responses in Iceland often take a universal approach devised at a national level and it is then up to the municipalities to adapt the documentation to their own context and to develop more explicit actions.

Policy responses

No information available.
Are you aware of any relevant information? Please let us know
An overview of regional policy responses addressing health inequalities can be found in our Policy Database.

Good practices

An overview of local and regional projects and initiatives that are currently taking place or that have successfully been finalized, and that are addressing health inequality issues, can be found in our Project Database.

Key actors

Please find below an overview of key actors in Iceland working on health inequality issues:


Are you aware of key actors that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!


Key resources

Please find below a short overview of key documents and resources (produced at regional level) addressing health inequality issues in Iceland. More publications can be found in our Publications Database.


Are you aware of key resources that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Start typing and press Enter to search