Greece is comprised of 13 regions (nine on the mainland and four island groups). The regions are Attica; Central Greece; Central Macedonia; Crete; East Macedonia and Thrace; Epirus; Ionian Islands; North Aegean; Peloponnese; South Aegean; Thessaly; West Greece; and West Macedonia.

Policy responses

At the regional level inequalities in health status have been observed over the last three decades. Even at regional level, implementation of policies to tackle health inequalities is made difficult by the current financial situation in Greece and by ongoing restructuring of regional entities which involves merging of several local authorities into new legal entities with increased autonomy with regard to health programmes.

An overview of regional policy responses addressing health inequalities can be found in our Policy Database.

Good practices

An overview of local and regional projects and initiatives that are currently taking place or that have successfully been finalized, and that are addressing health inequality issues, can be found in our Project Database.

Key actors

Please find below an overview of key actors in Greece working on health inequality issues:


Are you aware of any other key actors that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Key resources

Please find below a short overview of key documents and resources (produced at regional level) addressing health inequality issues in Greece. More publications can be found in our Publications Database.
Are you aware of key resources that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Start typing and press Enter to search