Mainland France is divided into 22 administrative regions which are further subdivided into departments. Regions lack separate legislative authority and therefore cannot write their own statutory law. They levy their own taxes and, in return, receive a decreasing part of their budget from the central government, which gives them a portion of the taxes it levies. They also have considerable budgets managed by a regional council (conseil régional) made up of representatives voted into office in regional elections. The regions are Alsace; Aquitaine; Auvergne; Brittany; Burgundy; Centre; Champagne-Ardenne; Franche-Comté; Île-de-France; Languedoc-Roussillon; Limousin; Lorraine; Lower Normandy; Midi-Pyrénées; Nord-Pas-de-Calais; Pays de la Loire; Picardy; Poitou-Charentes; Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur; Rhône-Alpes; Upper Normandy.

Policy responses

Within the regions Regional Health Agencies are responsible for creating specific plans within frameworks that devised at a national level. The plans are tailored to regions’ own needs and explicitly address health inequalities.

An overview of regional policy responses addressing health inequalities can be found in our Policy Database.


Good practices

An overview of local and regional projects and initiatives that are currently taking place or that have successfully been finalized, and that are addressing health inequality issues, can be found in our Project Database.

Key actors

Please find below an overview of key actors in France working on health inequality issues:

Are you aware of any other key actors that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!


Key resources

Please find below a short overview of key documents and resources (produced at regional level) addressing health inequality issues in France. More publications can be found in our Publications Database.


Are you aware of any other key resources that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Start typing and press Enter to search