The Republic of Estonia is divided into 15 maakond (counties). The government of each county is led by a county governor, who represents the national government at the regional level. The 15 counties are Harjumaa; Hiiumaa; Ida-Virumaa;Jõgevamaa; Järvamaa; Läänemaa; Lääne-Virumaa; Põlvamaa; Pärnumaa; Raplamaa; Saaremaa; Tartumaa; Valgamaa; Viljandimaa; and the county of Võrumaa.

Policy responses

Policy responses are often devised at a national level with the message then being convened to the lower level authorities.

An overview of regional policy responses addressing health inequalities can be found in our Policy Database.


Good practices

An overview of local and regional projects and initiatives that are currently taking place or that have successfully been finalized, and that are addressing health inequality issues, can be found in our Project Database.

Key actors

Please find below an overview of key actors in Estonia working on health inequality issues:


Are you aware of key actors that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!


Key resources

Please find below a short overview of key documents and resources (produced at regional level) addressing health inequality issues in Estonia. More publications can be found in our Publications Database.


Are you aware of key resources that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Start typing and press Enter to search