Croatia is a unitary democratic comprising županije (counties or regions) which have been in place since independence was declared in 1991. Each county subdivides into a series of municipalities. The counties are: Bjelovar-Bilogora; Brod-Posavina; Dubrovnik-Neretva; Istria; Karlovac; Koprivnica-Križevci; Krapina-Zagorje; Lika-Senj; Međimurje; Osijek-Baranja; Požega-Slavonia; Primorje-Gorski Kotar; Šibenik-Knin; Sisak-Moslavina; Split-Dalmatia; Varaždin; Virovitica-Podravina; Vukovar-Syrmia; Zadar; Zagreb County; City of Zagreb.

Policy responses

Policy responses have been implemented at a regional level but generally speaking tend to be devised at the national level.

An overview of regional policy responses addressing health inequalities can be found in our Policy Database.


Good practices

An overview of local and regional projects and initiatives that are currently taking place or that have successfully been finalized, and that are addressing health inequality issues, can be found in our Project Database.

Key actors

Please find below an overview of key actors in Croatia working on health inequality issues:

Are you aware of any other key actors that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!


Key resources

Please find below a short overview of key documents and resources (produced at regional level) addressing health inequality issues in Croatia. More publications can be found in our Publications Database.

Are you aware of any other key resources that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Start typing and press Enter to search