Austria is federal republic comprised of nine federal states known as Länder. The nine states are Burgenland; Carinthia; Lower Austria; Upper Austria; Salzburg; Styria; Tyrol; Vorarlberg; and Vienna. The official language is German and is spoken by 89% of the population.

Policy responses

Policies that impact on health inequalities are partially developed by the Ministry of Health, the Ministry of Social Affairs and the regions (Länders). There is no national integrated plan explicitly addressing health inequalities, however some aspects of the problem are mentioned in the 2008 – 2013 Agreement between the Landers (regions) and the National Social Insurance Institute.

An overview of regional policy responses addressing health inequalities can be found in our Policy Database.

Good practices

An overview of local and regional projects and initiatives that are currently taking place or that have successfully been finalized, and that are addressing health inequality issues, can be found in our Project Database.

Key actors

Please find below an overview of key actors in Austria working on health inequality issues:

Are you aware of key actors that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Key resources

Please find below an short overview of key documents and resources (produced at regional level) addressing health inequality issues in Austria. More publications can be found in our Publications Database.


Are you aware of any other key resources that should be added to this list?
Please let us know!

Start typing and press Enter to search